Why you should care about Net Neutrality..

I read this article on The Verge today –

The American people gave exactly 4,377 f***s for net neutrality



The maximum number of people who come to this blog are from America, hopefully I can bring this number down a bit.

Net neutrality is very important because everything that you do these days is one or the other way connected to the internet.

Let me simplify net neutrality for you –

1. Customer part – ISPs will make packages of website and services. You will have to pay extra to access YouTube. There will be a different package for social networks like Twitter and Facebook. Another package for streaming sites like Netflix and Hulu and so on. So if you haven’t bought a package, it will be blocked for you.

2. Service providers – It is not only you who will have to pay extra to access content. Content providers will have to pay extra to the ISPs to get the content to you. Big companies like Google, Facebook, Netflix etc. will not have a problem coughing up money for this. But what about content providers who cannot pay?
They will wither and die. well, not literally but their business is going to take a big hit.

And who do you think is winner? The ISPs who get money from you, the customer as well as from the content providers.

Now how many fucks do you give for net neutrality?

PS. Check The guide to the open internet to better understand net neutrality.

Kindle Unlimited – worth your 9.99 USD?

Kindle unlimited

I subscribed to Kindle Unlimited as soon as it launched in US last night.

So what exactly is Kindle Unlimited? Well, it is a service by Amazon.com where you get to read as many books as you want for 9.99 USD a month. This type of service is not new, companies like Oyster and Scribd have already been doing this for years but then again they are not Amazon.

What makes this Kindle Unlimited unique and interesting is Wispersync feature. Whispersync for Voice allows you to move from reading to listening without losing your place in the book. Example – you have chores to do but the book you are reading is too interesting to put down, you can switch to audio and listen to the book while doing your chores and they go back to reading when you are done with your chores.

So, should you subscribe to Kindle Unlimited?

Probably not,

80 percent of you don’t read that many books a month and signing up for a US only service requires some workaround.

To the 20 percent that is excited about Kindle Unlimited

I’d suggest that you wait. Right now less than 10 percent of popular titles are available for unlimited reading. 90 percent of the books in The New York Times Bestseller list is not available in Kindle Unlimited library.

Let the big six publishers (Random House, Penguin Group, HarperCollins, Macmillan, Simon & Schuster and Hachette Book Group) and indie authors sign for the service. That’s when you get to see all the popular titles.

Also your local library will probably provide you with unlimited titles every month for FREE.

Lucifer’s Lungi by Nitin Sawant [Book Review]

[spoiler free]


Initially, when I got the request to review this book, I was very skeptical.

I kept thinking, Lucifer’s Lungi, the name is strange, the description is confusing. It seems to be about gods and devils, I like thrillers, why am I agreeing to read and review this book?

…and the skepticism lasted till I read the first paragraph of “po-logue”, after than I was enraptured by the story.

The setting of the story is very simple, and relatable. The protoganist is somewhat similar to some of us, a cocky guy working for a nice firm in the city, South Indian, Madaras, to be more precise, and of course he doesn’t know the language.

To escape the humdrum of corporate life, our protoganist starts to explore tourist spots on weekends, that is until he ends up in the wrong place.

Lucifer’s Lungi is the story of a misadventure the protagonist (we don’t know his name) experiences in one of his weekend adventure trip.

I am thankful to the representatives of Fablery for bringing to my attention this novella. It a very entertaining and quick read at just 111 pages. I am definitely going to look up the author, Nitin Sawant for more of his work and I am going to make my sister read this tonight.

Rating – 5 stars