The first email I got from vlopez@geraagency.com got me really excited.

 

==================================================

Hi,

I am sorry I have to write you to e-mail from whois information of the domain. But I could not find contact e-mail or feedback form on your site.

We are looking for new advertisement platforms and we are interested in your site vinitneo.com.

Is it possible to place banner on your site on a fee basis?

Best regards,

Valentin Lopez

====================================================

 

Wow. Someone wants to buy an ad space on my blog. That is awesome. I replied to him.

 

===================================

Hello,

Thanks for reminding me about that. After the redesign of the site, I had forgotten to put in the contact info. I will update the info soon. And yes it is possible to place banner on my site.

Regards

Vinit Nair

=========================================

 

And I immediately got his reply –

================================================

Hello,

Thanks for reply to our proposal!

I represent Gera Agency. At the moment we are preparing an advertising campaign for Lacoste Company (it is a French company producing clothes, footwear, perfumery etc.) We already have designed banners for the campaign, they are the following sizes: 160×600, 240×400, 300×250, 336×280, 468×60, 728×90.

What can be your price for one banner (banner should appear at ALL pages of your site) of abovementioned sizes (please specify the place for the banner – top, bottom, left, right)? Please mention a normal link for banner, without javascript code and set prices in US dollars per month.

Best regards,

Valentin Lopez.

site: www.geraagency.com

e-mail: vlopez@geraagency.com

phone: + (0)9 78 62 85 38

=================================================

 

I was confused by the line Please mention a normal link for banner, without javascript code so I Googled the line to find out that this guy is running a major scam.

If you quote him a price, you will get this reply –

 

=====================================================

 Hi!

Thanks for reply to our proposal!

We like your price.

To pass to the banner control system follow the link http://webmaster.nami-agency.com

To enter use the following data:

login: www.*********.com

password: *********

You should install and activate the plugin in order to display advertisement. Before making payment, advertiser must approve location of the banner. The banner will be shown on your site when you add special code to your web- address (for example: http://www.*********.com/?adv_test=1. It means, that visitors will see the banner only if it is approved and payment made.

To get installation instruction for your site type pass to: http://docs.nami-agency.com/wp_install

To activate your site you have to enter the code: *********

What way of payment is suitable for you?

Best regards,

Maxence Leclerc.

site: www.nami-agency.com

e-mail: mleclerc@nami-agency.com

phone: + (0)9 78 62 68 47

==========================================================

 

That plugin is obviously contains some sort of code to hack the blog or something. So, moral of this whole thing, don’t jump when you see something like this. Google it, and see if it is the real deal before you take up on any offer.

 

  • http://www.jonbostwick.com/ Jon Bostwick

    Thanks for posting your experience. I just received this email for one of my sites, too, and you saved me some time investigating. 

  • Anonymous

    happy to be of help. 

  • Bryerae

    I have just read their offer in my email 5 minutes ago. Thanks for this information.

  • Anonymous

    Glad to be of help. 

  • Pingback: Gera Agency Scam | I'm Just Sharing